Treasure Chest on the Moselle
The state-certified spa town of Enkirch is referred to as the “Treasure Chest of Rhine Village Construction”. Its numerous medieval half-timber structures, royal wine villa estates, narrow alleys and enchanting niches convey tranquillity and security. You breathe easier strolling through the centre of this idyllic town in the heart of the Central Mosel River area. Guided tours provide you with an insight into its history, documented back to 733. Its mild climate and geographic location at the aperture of four tributary valleys featuring a hinterland rich in forests entices many of our guests to return again and again for rest and relaxation.
The town of Enkirch is located in the Moselle-Saar holiday region, approximately 20 km to the west of Frankfurt-Hahn Airport (see map on bottom of page).
The Moselle-Saar is one of the nine holiday regions of Germany's Rhineland-Palatinate. Of the Rhine's tributaries, the Moselle is considered the loveliest. Idyllic wine villages perched on steep, vine-clad slopes, and romantic little towns with a medieval feel, such as Cochem and Bernkastel-Kues, lend the Moselle valley its unique character. Trier, over 2,000 years old, is the oldest town in Germany and its stone relics dating back to Roman times have now been designated a UNESCO world heritage site. Come and discover for yourself the jovial hospitality of local Moselle people — and don't forget to treat yourself to a delicious glass of that famous local Riesling. ... read more about the Moselle-Saar holiday region
Enkirch was founded on settlements with origins stretching back into the Stone Age. During the reign of the Celts and then the Romans, the area was well populated and an important economic centre, as is evidenced by archaeological findings of the grave of a likely Celtic princess and later Roman temples. The first mention of Enkirch dates back to 733 A. D. under the Celtic name “ANCHRIRIACUM” in a deed of donation from Adela, a noble maiden. In 1248 the locality received its official certification of independence from the local landowner, the “Earl of Sponheim-Starkenburg”, which contained the following concessions, none of which were particularly common for the time: The abolition of serfdom, the establishment of a weekly market, the foundation of a justice system independent of the Earl and the voluntary construction of a fortification wall around the village. From this point on the area boomed significantly both in handcrafts and trade. This additionally resulted in Enkirch’s population rising to 2,400 residents during the heyday of handcrafts. Along with handcrafts, winegrowing had always been a prominent economic factor since the days of the Romans, and winegrowing and tourism continue today as the cornerstones of the local economy.
Today Enkirch is a winegrowing and holiday location with just short of 1,800 residents, and it is known as “The Wine Connoisseur’s Anchorage Ground”. Some 80 winegrowing operations work an estimated 95 ha of vineyard area, 80 % of which is located on cliffs and most of which grows Riesling grapes. Riesling vines are in their ideal home here, which accounts for Mosel Riesling’s reputation as the “King of White Wines”. A hike along the Winegrowing Path provides a wealth of information about winegrowing in Enkirch, along with a magnificent view of the whole town and its beautiful valleys.
- The “Ratsweinschenke”, a particularly beautiful half-timbered building, houses the Local History Parlour. This cosy museum was given into the care of a local group (Heimat- und Verkehrsverein) a few years ago, who renovated and now supervise it. It is the perfect place to look back into Enkirch’s past, for example at the erection of a seat of justice after 1248 as Enkirch received its town charter with the right to hold a market and court as well as moats and a fortification wall with a total of 7 gates.
Drilles im Spilles
(The Rotating Cage in the “Spielhaus”)
- In the 16th Century this represented a means of punishment or was used to enforce the accepted moral standards of the day. Back then an unusual custom had been established; one that not all of the local citizens were pleased about. Young girls were auctioned, without the slightest ulterior motive. The ‘story behind the story’ was simply that the young men who ‘purchased’ the girls were obligated to take their new acquisitions to every official event for one whole year. Since there are two sides to every coin, the girls were obligated for their part to pay for everything their boys consumed during the local “Königstag”, or ‘King’s Day celebrations (the festivities lasted 3 days). According to the legend, this frequently amounted to more than the young men had paid for the girls. If a boy or girl were discovered participating in such an auction, they were sentenced to three days in the ‘Rotating Cage’. Those sentenced to this punishment were then generally packed in with as many other guilty parties as possible and anyone who happened by was free to spin the cage.
- Krieger´sche Haus
- This is one of the largest and finest half-timbered structures for miles around, built in 1675 by Matthias Faller, a master watchmaker. The size of the house inspired much jealousy, which Faller dismissed with the saying inscribed on the gazebo, “He who builds along the streets must let the people talk. No master in the world builds something to the liking of everyone”. The size of the house is also a perfect example of the construction style of the day. The living area is contained within only one level on the ground floor, while the storehouse stretches over 3 floors. Another particularity of the house is its gazebo featuring 5 windows equipped with shutters known back then as “Zugläden”.
- Protestant Church
- Officially certified in 908, this church was renovated and expanded many times throughout its history until construction was completed in 1719. The left side features a structure unique in Germany, the “Balghäuschen”. This unique structure for a unique problem was built back in 1761 to accommodate the bellows for the organ since there was no room in the church itself. In addition, this is one of the largest gallery churches in the Central Mosel region. The structure of the gallery is much like a university lecture hall.
- 1883 saw the construction of this small police jail building, which continued to be used until around 1955. The front part of the building houses the “Antik-Feuerwehr” (‘Antique Fire Department’), which is now an exhibition space for the variety of fire fighting equipment, including a functional nozzle stemming from 1850.
- Holy Spirit Hospital
- This is a massive structure spanning two sides of the street which already housed a private senior citizen’s home back in 1338.
There is always something happening — whether it is art, music, wine festivals or a host of other activities. The Events Finder gives you an overview about what is on, where and when. Here you can search for events and festivals in the region.
Here you have direct access to the online accommodation reservation service of the Tourist Board of Rhineland-Palatinate. No other hotel reservation system on the Internet offers you such a broad and comprehensive list of accommodation in Germany's Rhineland-Palatinate regions. You can list accommodation, search accommodation, contact accommodation establishments and make online reservations.